WNSAwards: “I’m hoping the poems changes people’s ideas HIV” – Zewande Bhengu

ZEWANDE

1. What is the story behind your poem? What inspired you to write it?
I wrote the poem after I had read a newspaper article a long time ago where the man was accused of “infecting” his wife with HIV but he was saying that she was cheating so he left.

The second part of the poem was a response to how people were addressing this conversation around HIV. It painted this picture that people who are HIV positive are weak and helpless and I was not in agreement having encountered people who were stable, strong willed, hard working despite their status.

2. If your poem had the power to change just one thing, what would it be?
It would be making people a lot more aware and understanding of HIV.

3. Which poem would you like to win…besides your own of course?
“To die before we die” – Modise Sekgothe

4. How do you feel about it being nominated in the Perfect Poem Category?
It fills me with shock and joy at the same time. I thought if I made into this category, it would another poem but it takes nothing away from my joy for it.

Leave a Reply

