WNS Awards: Vote for your best newcomer

WNSAwards_Newcomers

We’d love to know, of all the poets who joined the Open Mic League this year, which one of them completely blew you away.

The Nominees for the 2014 Word N Sound Best Newcomer Award

  • Bafentse Ntlokoa
  • Nkosinathi Gaar
  • Xabiso Vili
  • Thando Bhuthelezi
  • Zewande Bhengu


BafentseTHUMB

“The one thing I have learned about slams is that they are very unpredictable and that it isn’t wise to get cocky.”  – Bafentse Ntlokoa. Read her full interview here.

NkosinathiTHUMB

Nkosinathi Gaar’s advice to aspirant slammers is: “Speak with your own voice before you speak with anyone else’s. Read his full interview here.

XabisoTHUMB 

“Write your truth and the audience will resonate. Even if it’s one person in the audience – you have done your job,” says Xabiso Vili. Read his full interview here.

ThandoTHUMB

“I gave the slam my all and I was not only doing it for myself, I was doing it for the people who were there to support me,” says Thando Bhuthelezi. Read her full interview here.

Zewande_THUMB

“The Word N Sound Festival was my highlight of the year! I think the idea of a no holds barred slam really let me play to my strengths and also I was really hungry for that title so I spent a lot of energy on it.” – Zewande Bhengu. Read his full interview here.

 

VOTE NOW

Leave a Reply

