WNS Awards: “Take the Word N Sound stage seriously” – Thando Buthelezi

Thando

“I gave the slam my all and I was not only doing it for myself,
I was doing it for the people who were there to support me.”

 

Where did you find out about the Word N Sound platform?
I found out about Word N Sound from other poets and I got into the slam because I was curious about that stage.

What has been your highlight of the year?
The highlight of my year was performing at the 4th Word N Sound International Youth Poetry Festival and sharing the stage with Gratitude Fisher.

What has been the biggest challenge you faced in the Open Mic Poetry League?
My biggest challenge for me was having to adapt from being an ordinary poet to being a slam poet and have to compete against the best slammers in Joburg.

What has this year on the Word N Sound stage taught you about yourself?
I think more than anything it has taught me about discipline, commitment and hard work.

Which of your performances did you enjoy the most and why?
The performance I most enjoyed was the festival performance, because I gave it my all and I was not only doing it for myself I was doing it for the people who were there to support me and have supported me throughout the year.

Will you be returning to the slam next year?
No I will not be returning to the slam next year.

Any advice for those who plan to slam next year?
The advice I would give to people who want to slam next year would be to take the Word N Sound stage seriously, and to do this for themselves more than to compete.

Leave a Reply

