POET OF THE WEEK- Koleka Putuma is on a winning streak!!

Writer Kgothatso Maditse get’s into the mind of this rising star to find out more about her journey as a poet on a winning streak..

 “Ashes are unofficial metaphors for black sons”

“Ashes are unofficial metaphors for black sons”

Who is Koleka?

I’m a final year student at UCT studying Theatre and performance. A lover of words, an awkward quiet being, one of 8 kids

Where did this all begin? How long have you been writing?

I’ve been writing on and off for 6 years, but seriously for 4. It started in Grade 9, we had to write a poem about HIV and Aids, unprotected sex for LO. So yea if it wasn’t for that……

What inspires you?

Personal experiences, pressing issues in society

What do you want to be remembered for?

The effort and time I put in crafting my writing. Eventually, and I do hope to get to this point, where the title’s not something that goes before me, but rather that the work is what goes before me.

Which poets do you look up to and what do you like about them?

Zora Howard, Nayyira Waheed, Yrsa Daley-Ward, Te’v Smith and Joburg based poet Mandi Vundla, among others. Their work jolts and twists and rearranges the way I once thought of things. And I dig writing that has the ability to do that to my perspective

You said you had told someone you wanted to be on the Word N Sound stage. Why Word N Sound?

They are doing really dope, amazing things, and whenever there is something that dope, you want to be part of them moving forward in a positive way

You’re the first National Slam Champion. How does that feel, and what do you think it can open up for you?
She came out victorious
It feels amazing and affirming, and right now it’s drawing a lot of attention too. People didn’t know who i was before the thing. I think more people know my work. Not my work, but me. They cannot be acquainted with my work

If you could fix one thing about the poetry/spoken word society/environment, what would it be?

Perhaps not fix, but just draw attention to. The business aspect of the society/environment needs constant evaluation, respect and attention

What’s one thing you want people to know about you?

I’m a passionate being. I’m a really passionate being. About everything

What is one thing most misunderstood about you?

That i’m sociable. People don’t know! I’m awkward and that’s awkward.

Your future in terms of poetry, where are you going? What can we look forward to from you next?

I want to travel some more. I want to publish, hopefully. But I’m not rushing anything. I’ll take it as it comes. Stay glued to my blog I’d say: www.cocoputuma.wordpress.com


We wish you everything of the best on your journey
SALUTE!

Leave a Reply

