#WNSallstars: I wouldn’t want to go back to my first performance – Mandi

AllStars_Mandi
1. Where did you first hear about WNS and what made you want to be a part of it?
Facebook, I was looking for spoken word sessions when I came across the movement.

2. Tell us about your first time on the WNS stage. How was the experience? What did you love about it and what did you hate?
I performed a poem questioning abortion. I was alone, awkward, cute and petrified. My eyes were closed throughout the performance and my butterflies were gunning me down. I wouldn’t want to go back to that moment hey.

3. What has been your most memorable WNS show?

When I won the crown for the 2nd time. Nothing can beat that. The Tongue Fu show was also boss.

4. You are now part of the WNS Committee. What is your role and how has that experience been?
I work on providing content for WNS social media platforms and finding innovative ways to brand the movement. Being part of a team that is driven and motivated is inspiring. I need that kind of energy. It has also taught me to work better with people, patience is key and managing your time as an artist and team player is also essential. I struggled last year, I realized that there is time for everything, slamming and being part of the team is not a good idea; one will fall short.

5. Name your favourite poems from any of the artists in the All-Stars line up. What is it about that poem that makes it stand out?
Joburg, Joburg Let My People Go by K.B

Nkosi Sikelela iAzania by Mpho Khosi

Leave a Reply

