#WNSallstars: WNS always tries to out-do itself – KB

AllStars_KB

1. Where did you first hear about WNS and what made you want to be a part of it?
I was busting in PTA, went to EVERY session imaginable, in 2008 I heard there was WNS, and to me it was another stage for me to share and receive. PLUS when I was starting out, I had inboxed Afurakan that “one day” I will share a stage with him…. Lo and behold…

2. Tell us about your first time on the WNS stage. How was the experience? What did you love about it and what did you hate?
My 1st time was in September 2008, I performed the poem called “I Lied”, I had chosen it because it is powerful, it’s real and causes curiosity where it’s going. The response was out of this world, “the underdog from PTA” burning up the stage, I just hated that PTA was not well represented in JHB and that was about to change.

3. What has been your most memorable WNS show?
Too many, I think WNS always tried to out-do itself and every time I’m there, artist give it their best. One is only as good as their last performance right?

4. Name 3 of your favourite poems from any of the artists in the AllStars line up. What is it about that poem that makes it stand out?
Mutle – Parkinson, I’ve seen the movie that Mutle drew inspiration from, and his interpretation of the character was on point. That poem will always be remembered as one of his best works whether he likes it or not.

Afurakan – Dream, I don’t think this dude realises how powerful that poem is, enough said. These days dreaming the right dream is a privilege. Also, “the U-n-i-verse moves with me”……”A hungry stomach scars the body, but a starving mind murders the spirit”.

Andrew Manyika – Make Up, A revolutionary poem, an enlightening piece, truth at it’s best. The calmness of Andrew as he sails through this poem, I think it’s always so well executed and I can never get enough of it. Women should really take this poem to heart. But Andrew has this other poem about the trajectory of a tear, another memorable poem.

Leave a Reply

