#WNSfest Interview: MUTLE MOTHIBE

Mutle_Poster

WnS: What sets you apart from the rest?

MM: I think being Mutle already sets me apart, interpretation of my reality, my references, the layering I weave into all the work I put out and also my obsession with detail.

WnS: You’ve inspired a lot of people and writers, who and what inspires you?

MM: I’m inspired by everything. From everyday conversations, ambient music, movie scripts, song lyrics, books I read. As to who inspires me, I don’t have that many people of late but I used to live on Shakespeare, Ben Okri, Pablo Neruda. And hip hop artists like Vast Aire, Qwel, Talib, Aesop Rock, I used to (Still do)  memorize their songs and recite them through the day and also would research them to better understand the content and better my writing skills.

WnS: It’s voter registration weekend. Do you have any views on the state of governance in the country?

MM: I think we could do better.

WnS: You recently got back from Cardiff in Scotland, what is it like

MM: It was an eye opener!!! I learned a lot and also was inspired to value my work more, to work harder and see passed the work as just fit for the stage but beyond just performance. I made amazing connections and was humbled by the experience and opportunities.

WnS: If you were in a slam with god, what would your killer punchline be?

MM: My confidence is wilting from tilling her emotional fields hoping that my reasoning will harvest her love organs. I’m running out of words, my lisp is still in season but her lips aren’t here for the picking.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

