#WNSFest Interview: MPHO KHOSI

 

Mpho_PosterWnS: You are a self published author, how has the response been to your work, and are there more books in the pipeline?

MM: The book has done well, I have however been a bit lazy in marketing it. But, thanks to a friend, I have managed to sell more books and push it a bit more. There are always more books in the pipeline, I just need to give myself time to sit and start working.

WnS: In the contemporary context, where digital and visual media run the roost, do you feel like there’s still a place for poetry in print.

MM: I was fortunate to meet people who still demand to have printed books, so, there is a platform for printed poetry, we just need to make use of it.

WnS: You incorporate Jazz into your performances. Why that genre, and what Jazz stage would you most love to perform on?

MM: I grew up with jazz and reggae being the theme music at home, so; in a way me incorporating jazz into my work is me paying tribute to my dad for introducing me to the music. It would be an honour and blessing to find myself getting on the joy of jazz stage with a live band one day.

WnS :Have you registered to vote?

MM: I have registered, just need to check if my name is still on the roll. I have voted each year since I became old enough to vote.

WnS: 3rd year running with Word N Sound, what’s that journey been like for you?

MM: It has been an awesome one, Word N Sound grows from year to year.

WnS: What is the one question you’d like to be asked most in an interview. Why? And what would your answer be?

MM: Why do you write? And the answer would be, to express and heal myself of my inner-most pains, that I can’t really speak about.

WnS: If you were in a slam with god, what would your killer punchline be?

MM: Ooh. “you claim to be dope, but yet you created me as a perfection of yourself”

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

