INTERVIEW: MASAI DABULA

masai

1. Please tell us how you’re feeling about showcasing on the word n sound stage once again?

I’ve been missing in action for some time now. I’m excited and ready.

2. Can you remember the very first time you got on stage, how was that experience?

i was born to seal the gap on stage, I’m a natural. I killed it!

3. What made you decide that poetry is what you want to do for a living?

Poetry does something to you, it changes you and not only your perception. Truth be told, writing and conceptualizing is what i pride myself on, and the only thing i want to master now.

284742_10150725370255425_5965291_n

4. What would you say is the best way to deal with forgetting your lines on stage?

Breath, we all die on stage but the most important thing is standing up again. Giving up can not be an option.

5. What would you say to anyone who thinks that you’re poems are racist?

I love my people.

6. Who/what has been the greatest influence on your work?

love for my people.

7. Would you cut off your dreadlocks for a corporate gig, if not why?

Never, my hair is sacred. Dude my hair is my crown.

8. What are some of the challenges you face as a full-time artist?

have to work twice as hard than my employed brothers and sisters. I have to prove to myself everyday that i made the right choice by resigning from my job.

462776_10151019897853179_1041710378_o

9. What would you like to say to all the people who will be seeing you on the stage for the first time?

Your mama warned you about me.
10.  What is the next step for Masai Dabula?
Life is my stepping stone… All I know is that by the age of 30, I’ll have 20 books under my name. Not to mention short films, plus I’m working on building an art centre in my Township. All in all, the sky is infinite and God is my limit.

2 thoughts on “INTERVIEW: MASAI DABULA

  1. Masai Dabula is just a true definition of “Truth be told” in his written work… I salute!!! “What Do You Know About Freedom” inspired me to write one of my freedom poems. I’d love to share a stage with this guy one day. #MuchLove&Respect#

    Keep doing justice to poetry in SA. God bless!

    Like

  2. STARS says:

    R.E.S.P.E.C.T Mhlakaziii

    Like

Leave a Reply

